fireside stories

Origins: Fireside Stories

“…so that there should be no division in the body, but that its parts should have equal concern for each other. If one part suffers, every part suffers with it; if one part is honored, every part rejoices with it.”

1 Corinthians 12:25-28

This was the scripture that changed my life.

I’ve always wanted to travel, but I found after I purchased a home it became difficult.

However in 2012 I received an email. I entered a contest. I won the chance of a lifetime to visit persecuted Christians in the summer of 2013. I met many people, heard amazing stories and testimonies of what God has been doing in the kingdom. Then when I came home…I felt empty. I felt like I didn’t understand the point of the way I was living and it made me uncomfortable. But timed passed and that uncomfortable feeling was numbed. Flash forward to now and since that first trip to Colombia I have been able to travel to Malawi, Africa twice with my best friend. However since then I haven’t traveled.

Recently the desire to answer the call “Whom shall I send?” with a resounding SEND ME! has come back into my heart and my head. It’s been bubbling up and I can’t ignore it any longer.

That being said…I am taking a risk. If you know me you might have followed some of my home improvements on my other blog Making My Way Home. If you know me you know that this decision 2qw not easy, but I decided to sell my house. I’M SELLING MY HOUSE! Wow, saying that out loud is so insane. I’m closing on the 27th of February and moving into an apartment. This decision was made so that I could travel more and answer the call.

So where did the name Fireside Stories come from?

This past summer I worked on preparing my home to host a 4th of July BBQ with my family. I wanted my backyard to be a place where people gathered, spent time together, laughed together, told stories. I got a fire pit from a friend, a chalkboard sign and that’s what I wrote. Fireside stories. My family came, we ate, we had great conversation and we roasted marshmallows together. That time will always hold a special place in my heart.

The image of people gathered around a campfire, speaking truths, sharing stories, that is my desire. People from all over coming together, sharing stories and making connections. This is it. Traveling, making connections with my brothers and sisters in Christ. Hearing their stories, rejoicing in their triumphs, sharing in their sorrows, and spreading the good news of Jesus.

This blog was created to share those stories.

Final Thought: I’ve waiting a long time to make a move toward this vision that God gave me in high school, you can read about that here, but what I’m wondering is… has God called you to do something that you’ve put off? Either because of fear or thinking that it is impossible? I challenge you to ask God if there is something that you need to come back to.

“Then the LORD said to me, “You have made your way around this hill country long enough; now turn north…”

Deuteronomy 2:2-3

Prayer Requests:

  1. Discernment as I make plans for travel this summer.
  2. That I would have peace transitioning into my new place and commute to work.
  3. That God will use this site as an instrument for his kingdom.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

